Lady Sycamores host Marquette in WNIT

File Photo
File Photo

The Indiana State Women’s Basketball team will host Marquette in the opening round of WNIT at Hulman Center on Thursday. Time is still to be announced.

Indiana State makes its second-consecutive postseason appearance, tying the longest streak in school history. ISU made back-to-back WNIT appearances in 2004-05 and 2005-06.

The Sycamores last hosted a WNIT game at the Hulman Center on March 20, 2006 when ISU fell to Indiana, 62-68. ISU is 1-5 all-time in the tournament with the lone win coming back in 2005 when ISU downed Illinois, 72-60, at the Hulman Center.

The Golden Eagles lead the all-time series 1-2, as the two teams played a home-and-home series in 2007-08 and 2008-09. ISU first matched up with Marquette in the 1981-82 season at the Sycamore Classic in Terre Haute in a 77-47 victory.

The Sycamores are 20-11 on the season and earned an automatic berth into the WNIT after winning a share of the Missouri Valley Conference regular season title. ISU fell in the MVC tournament semifinals to Drake on Saturday.

Marquette is 21-10 overall on the season and finished fifth in the Big East with an 11-7 record. They fell to No. 1 seed DePaul, 100-90, in the Big East Tournament semifinals.

More information on game time will be made available tomorrow afternoon.

In its 17th year, opening round games of the WNIT will be held March 19-21. The event culminates Saturday, April 5 with the championship game, which will be broadcast live on CBS Sports Network. All games are held at host sites around the country.

The WNIT bracket is made up of 64 teams in a single-elimination championship format. The field includes 32 teams that earned an automatic berth, and 32 teams that were chosen at-large. The automatic qualifiers are the best teams available from the nation’s 32 conferences that were not selected for the NCAA Tournament.

Conference USA leads the field with six teams selected, followed by five from the Big East, and four from the Atlantic 10, Big Ten, and Pac-12. The American, MAC, SEC, and WCC each have three schools represented. Other conferences in the field include: Big Sky (2), Big West (2), Ivy (2), Metro Atlantic (2), Patriot (2), Summit (2), ACC (1), America East (1), Atlantic Sun (1), Big 12 (1), Big South (1), Colonial (1), Horizon (1), MEAC (1), Missouri Valley (1), Mountain West (1), NEC (1), Ohio Valley (1), Southern (1), Southland (1), Sun Belt (1), SWAC (1), and WAC (1). provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you confirm your email address and acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s