Indiana denied FEMA aid for Jan. storms

WTHI Photo
WTHI Photo

INDIANA (WTHI) – The 49 counties that applied for FEMA assistance from the January severe weather have been denied.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) denied Indiana’s request for assistance to governments and certain non profits from the severe winter storm that happened on January 5 through the 9.

The federal grants requested for governments and certain non-profit organizations are under the FEMA designation of public assistance.

Public assistance grants would pay 75 percent of eligible expenses including debris and snow removal, emergency protective measures such as search and rescue and damage to buildings and equipment.

The counties that applied on March 6 include:

Allen, Benton, Blackford, Boone, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Clinton, DeKalb, Delaware, Elkhart, Fountain, Fulton, Grant, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Henry, Howard, Huntington, Jasper, Jay, Johnson, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Lake, LaPorte, Madison, Marion, Miami, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Noble, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Tipton, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, Warren, Wells, White and Whitley.

Indiana plans to appeal the decision.

blog comments powered by Disqus