Incumbents win re-election for Vigo County School Board

Incumbent Paul Lockhart spoke with News 10 following the results (WTHI Photo)
Incumbent Paul Lockhart spoke with News 10 following the results (WTHI Photo)

VIGO COUNTY, Ind. (WTHI) – The Vigo County School Corporation has been through a lot this year, with the most recent being new developments in the FBI investigation.

With all eyes on the school corporation, the race to fill the three open seats within the school board would not come easy.

The numbers are in and the people have spoken.

In District 1, Incumbents Jackie Lower and Mel Burks secured their seats on the board. The two were against seven other candidates including Louis “Joe” Duby, John Wayne Cunningham, Teresa Dwyer, Larry Faulkner, Steve Ferree, Cleytus Malone and Leah Myers.

Lower lead District 1 with 11,259 votes, Burks followed behind with 9,686 votes. Both claimed the two open seats in that district.

In District 3, Incumbent Paul Lockhart re-claimed his seat. Lockhart is the current president of the school board. Challenging Lockhart for the seat included Andrew Theisz and Donald Barnett.

Lockhart won with 13,629 votes. Only 2,000 votes separated him and Andrew Theisz who had 11,629.

Lockhart spoke with News 10 on the win. He says he and his fellow board members are grateful for the outcome.

“We’re just very appreciative of all the support that we’ve received,” Lockhart said, “All of those who voted for us, all of those who helped with the campaign and we look forward to serving another four years for the people in Vigo County.”

It was a very competitive and interesting race, however, Lockhart says he’s not surprised by the re-election of Lower and Burks.

“We have a very fantastic board,” he said, “It’s a very diverse board, but also works for what’s best for the kids.”