Uber wants to track your location — after you’ve been dropped off

uber-app

(WFLA) – The internet has been abuzz after it was revealed Uber’s new update lets the app track user location data after riders have been dropped off.

When users update the Uber app, they are asked to accept this policy.

Here’s how NPR described the change:

“Previously, Uber only collected data from the user if the rider had the application open. Now, if a rider calls for an Uber and closes the app, Uber says it will continue to collect location data up until five minutes after the ride ends. That means Uber can see where you end up after you leave the car.”

Uber’s website says the goal is to improve customer service, and make pickups and drop-offs better.

Privacy advocates have expressed concern about the update. The Electronic Privacy Information Center filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission.